Review „A Court of Wings and Ruin“ (Sarah J. Maas)

Attention: This is volume 3 of the series, if you don’t know the contents of the former books, you will be spoilered. You can find my review to ACOTAR here my review to ACOMAF here.

I am High Lady of the Night Court.

Feyre, p. 123.

I must admit that it took me a long while to read this book because I’d been spoilered and I couldn’t accept what I’d learned so I didn’t read it. But last year I wanted to know the end of the story and restarted reading it and thank goodness I did.

In the beginning, Feyre is at the Spring Court and twists and turns some situations in a really phenomenal way. Some would say, she took revenge – if so, then she did it with style, in my opinion. Her return to Velaris was even more spectacular, not only because of her reunion with her family but because of the whole message she sent to all Courts in Prythian on her way home. Her relationship with Rhys is as lovely and beautiful as ever, it’s this ‘ride or die’ – kind of relationship that takes my breath away and makes me adore them so much. But I must confess, that I sometimes missed the dancing around each other.

What I like about this book is that you also get to know a little bit more about Azriel, Cassian, and Mor: Their strengths as much as their fears and their sacrifices they’re willing to make in this final war against Hybern. I loved seeing their development and enjoyed every page about them. Plus, it really makes you want to read their own stories in a separate book – thank god SJM has planned/ is planning that for Cassian and Azriel! Also, you get to know what the consequences were for Nesta and Elain after being put into the cauldron, that was like: WOW!

Besides, this book is very moving and emotional for war requires some (hard) decisions and sacrifices that everyone was ready to make. I think I cried most at Cassian and Amren’s sacrifices – that was just… ach.. heartbreaking. But, I must admit that the last 100 pages or so everything happened like ‘pouf’ and it was over, though this ending… I died, I really did: one because of Rhys and because of the last minute actors, that appeared like five minutes before the end of the war. Perfect, absolutely brilliant!

The great joy and honor of my life has been to know you. To call you my family. And I am grateful – more than I can possibly say – that I was given this time with you all.

Rhys, p. 613.

All together, A Court of Wings and Ruin of Sarah J. Maas is an unbelievably cool sequel of the series with a lot of insight to the lives of Azriel, Amren, Cassian and Mor, the other High Lords of Prythian and also the Archeron sisters. It showed a certain happy ending for everyone somewhere and it was just such a delight to read.

Considering this entire series, I’d like to sum up that it’s officially my favourite book-series ever. I never thought I’d ever say this but it’s true. So, Queen Maas, thank you for this story, for Feyre and Rhysand’s love that developed so beautifully and tenderly, thank you for Velaris and everything it symbolizes, thank you for Azriel, Amren, Cassian and Mor, thank you for the Suriel, for Prythian’s history and fate. I love, love, LOVE IT!

Deutsche Kurzrezension

Aufgrund eines Spoilers auf den sozialen Netzwerken habe ich das Buch erst letzten Winter angefangen zu lesen, aber immerhin. Das Buch bietet detaillierte Informationen über Azriel, Amren, Cassian und Mor, was der ganzen Geschichte eine neue Perspektive bot und das Ganze interessanter und tiefgründiger gestaltete sowie Lust auf deren individuelle Geschichten machte.

Mit Blick auf den Krieg der bevorsteht und die damit verbundenen Gefahren, Risiken und Opfer, war das letzte Drittel des Buches sehr emotional und ich habe mehr als einmal Tränen in den Augen gehabt – nicht nur aufgrund der geschilderten Situation, sondern weil es in gewisser Weise einen (temporären zwar, aber dennoch) Abschied implizierte. Mir gefiel besonders, wie die Familie trotz der Gefahren versuchte ‚normal‘ zu bleiben und die verbliebene Zeit gemeinsam wertschätzend zu verbringen. Die Rolle die Nesta und Elain einnahmen und damit verbunden auch Cassian und Azriel war zusätzlich spannend! Insgesamt ist es ein gelungener Abschluss der Trilogie, das bis zum Ende spannend bleibt, viele schockierende Momente bot, aber auch Opfer forderte, die sehr berührten. Daher ist es für mich nur klar, dass es ein Highlight, ein Lieblingsbookie von der Lieblingsautorin ist und zudem als Lieblingsserie gekürt wird und entsprechend die Kategorie Tauchliebe verdient.

Diese gesamte Serie … es war einfach der Wahnsinn es zu lesen: Feyres gesamter Weg bis hierhin, die Beziehung zu Rhys, die sich so wunderbar sachte und sanft entwickelte, das Schicksal ihrer Schwestern, die Opfer von Rhys und der Familie, die bedingungslose Loyalität des inneren Kreises, dieser Zusammen- und Rückhalt zwischen allen Beteiligten – ich liebe es so sehr! Diese ganze Geschichte mit allen AkteurInnen darin und deren jeweilige Rollen auf das große Ganze. Ich hätte nie gedacht, dass ich das jemals sagen würde, aber es ist offiziell: Queen Maas hat meine aller liebste Serie erschaffen. Es ist mein Favorit auf so vielen Ebenen, ich greife immer wieder zurück zu diesem Buch, als wäre es ein Anker, dass mich im Strudel wieder auffängt und rettet und diese Welt ist einfach die schönste, von der ich jemals gelesen habe. Queen Maas, danke für diese Geschichte, für die Liebe zwischen Feyre und Rhysand, für Velaris und allem was es symbolisiert, für Azriel, Amren, Cassian und Mor – für die Geschichte und das Schicksal von Prythian! Ich LIEBE es!

  • title A Court of Wings and Ruin
  • author Sarah J. Maas
  • pages 720 pages (Print)
  • price 7,03 (Kindle Edition), 8,78 (SC), 17,99 (HC)
  • publisher Bloomsbury UK (2. Mai 2017)

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s manoeuvrings and the invading king threatening to bring her land to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit – and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords and hunt for allies in unexpected places. And her heart will face the ultimate test as she and her mate are forced to question whether they can truly trust each other. Source

2 Kommentare zu „Review „A Court of Wings and Ruin“ (Sarah J. Maas)

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar