Review „The Lone City 1: The Jewel“ (Amy Ewing)

The Jewel means wealth, the Jewel means beauty—but for Violet, the Jewel means servitude. Born and raised in the Marsh, Violet is destined for the Jewel. She is trained as a surrogate for the royalty and is bought by the Duchess of the Lake at auction. And she quickly learns the brutal truths that lie beneath the Jewel’s glittering facade: the cruelty, backstabbing, and hidden violence that have become the royal way of life.

Violet must accept the ugly realities of her life . . . all while trying to stay alive. But before she can accept her fate, Violet meets a handsome boy who is also under the Duchess’s control, and a forbidden love erupts. But their illicit affair has consequences, which will cost them both more than they bargained for. And toeing the line between being calculating and rebellious, Violet must decide what, and who, she is willing to risk for her own freedom. (source)

Once to see it as it is. Twice to see it in your mind. Thrice to bend it to your will.

At first, the cover, which shows a girl in a nice gown with jewels on it, made me think that the story would be similar to the Selection-series of Kiera Cass so I sat down in the bookstore and read a couple of pages to get an impression. Very quickly I recognized that my first assumption was wrong, I got caught up in the book immediately and I knew I had to buy it.

The female protagonist Violet ist a very sweet, good-hearted and tender person which I find very authentic, although she’s a bit naive at the beginning. But I think that’s just natural because of her young age and the lack of experience of life, before she starts living in the Jewel. During reading her story, I got more and more fascinated and proud of her and the development she is going through, I must compliment the author for this wonderful character she presents to us readers! I also like the other characters very much: her best friends Raven and Anabelle, the curious Lucien, who I love so much and of course the male protagonist Ash, whom I found intriguing though I was a little shocked about his profession. But I will say no more, because I don’t want to spoil the story. The Antagonists are very credible, too, especially the Duchess is an interesting personality, although she doesn’t hesitate to show her cruelty when it comes to her will which Violet isn’t ready for yet. But from time to time the reader gets a glimpse of her pained soul, which made me partly feel pity for her.

The whole story in itself is very cool, I like the plots as much as the plot twists. Very often unexpected things revealed itself to the reader which underlines the talent and quality of the author. I also like her spelling style which wasn’t difficult to understand, on the contrary, I almost read it as fast as I would read a book in german. Although I must confess that many things reminded me of the Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins) I still liked it very much.

I alsways find it very helpful, when authors include a map or other additional information about the world they’ve created, just like here, where the Lone City is shown on a map and some general information concerning the circles and the ruling houses are given. A great and entertaining book, which I like very much! I’m looking forward to the second book!

Hope is a precious thing, isn’t it, she says. And yet, we don’t really apprecite it until it’s gone.

The Jewel  hat mir richtig gut gefallen: Ich mag die Geschichte in ihrem Kern sehr gerne, auch wenn mich einige Situationen und ein-zwei Figuren etwas an Die Tribute von Panem erinnert haben, finde ich es sehr gelungen! Die Charaktere habe ich ebenfalls sehr ins Herz geschlossen, insbesondere Violet und Lucien und bin schon richtig gespannt, wie es im zweiten Band weitergehen wird, denn Band 1 endet mit einem fiesen Cliffhanger. Der Schreibstil der Autorin sowie die Karte auf den ersten Seiten des Buches, was ich als Leser immer sehr hilfreich finde, runden das ganze für mich wunderbar ab, so dass ich es mit der Kategorie Tauchgenuss bewerten möchte.

General Information

  • title The Jewel (Lone City Triology 1)
  • author Amy Ewing
  • pages 400 pages (Print)
  • price 7,19 (Kindle Edition), 16,85 (HC), 7,99 (SC)
  • publisher HarperTeen (1. September 2015)

buy the book

9 Kommentare zu „Review „The Lone City 1: The Jewel“ (Amy Ewing)“

Kommentar verfassen

